Finalists revealed: M. K. Ciurlionis Concert Centre in Kaunas

01-01 December 2017

Malcolm Reading Consultants Limited; Kaunas City Municipality, © Paleko Archstudija

Kaunas City Municipality and competition organisers Malcolm Reading Consultants announced the 3 finalists in the open anonymous design contest for the new circa €30m M.K. Ciurlionis Concert Centre.

The finalists were:

  • Paleko Archstudija and UAB Baltic Engineers (Lithuania) (1st Prize winner);
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios (United Kingdom);
  • Adam Khan Architects (United Kingdom).


A further 11 practices also proceeded to the top band of evaluation, as per the previously published Competition Conditions. These practices were:

  • Tabanlioglu Architects (Turkey); Arquivio Arquitectura SLP (Spain);
  • Ja Architecture Studio (Canada);
  • Mangado Y Asociados (Spain);
  • Studija “Heima”, MB and Vaidas Saveikis (Lithuania);
  • MHN Design Union (Australia);
  • MAKAN Architects (Egypt);
  • SLOT Studio (Mexico);
  • 2xm (Italy);
  • MAMBA (United Kingdom);
  • Young & Ayata (United States).


The Concert Centre will be named in honour of Lithuanian polymath M. K. Ciurlionis, an outstanding Lithuanian painter, composer and writer.

For further information click here.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn