Nine new Cities of Design

Posted on: 1. January 2018

On 31st October 2017, 64 cities from 44 countries have been designated as UNESCO Creative Cities by Director-General, Irina Bokova. They join a Network at the frontline of UNESCO’s efforts to foster innovation and creativity as key drivers for a more sustainable and inclusive urban development. This network attracts growing interest from local authorities.

“These new designations showcase an enhanced diversity in city profiles and geographical balance, with 19 cities from countries not previously represented in the Network” declared the Director-General.

These are the new UNESCO Cities of Design:

  1. Brasilia (Brazil)
  2. Cape Town (South Africa)
  3. Dubai (United Arab Emirates) – Design
  4. [City of] Greater Geelong (Australia)
  5. Istanbul (Turkey)
  6. Kolding (Denmark)
  7. Kortrijk (Belgium)
  8. Mexico City (Mexico)
  9. Wuhan (China)

Since 2004, the UNESCO Creative Cities Network highlights its members’ creativity within seven fields: Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music. It now counts a total of 180 cities in 72 countries.

While differing geographically, demographically or economically, all Creative Cities commit to develop and exchange innovative best practices to promote creative industries, strengthen participation in cultural life, and integrate culture into sustainable urban development policies. Within the framework of the implementation of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the New Urban Agenda, the Network provides a platform for cities to demonstrate culture’s role as an enabler for building sustainable cities.

The next Annual Meeting of the Creative Cities Network is scheduled to take place in Krakow and Katowice (Poland) in June 2018.

For further information click here.